Wild natural deodorant review: Not what I was expecting

Wild natural deodorant popped up on my Instagram feed one day and it seemed to be the ideal zero waste product. I was already wanting to replace the plastic roll on antiperspirants I’d been using and the advert seemed to answer everything I was looking for. ‘Aluminium, paraben & single-use plastic free’ it said – perfect! I thought.

Wild is no doubt an environmentally sustainable company. You purchase your first deodorant in an aluminium case, then when you run out you buy plastic free, biodegradable refills and keep reusing the case. The refill cases are made from bamboo pulp, making them compostable and should break down in 3-6 months in any compost. Wild products are delivered to your door in a cardboard box and have an optional subscription service so your refills arrive when you’re due to run out.

The formula is 100% natural as well, no nasty chemicals, aluminium or sulphates, which block up your pores and stop you from sweating out toxins. Unlike antiperspirants, natural deodorants won’t stop you from sweating, their purpose is to reduce the odour caused by sweating. Wild boasts that it’s formula will also keep your armpits dry and fresh, due to ingredients like tapioca starch that absorb moisture. There are five scents to choose from: coconut dreams, orange zest, bergamot rituals, mint fresh and rose blush. Plus an additional limited addition toffee apple scent released for Autumn.

Wild deodorant case with refills
Wild deodorant case with refills delivered to your door

What happened next…

Wild wasn’t my first experience of a natural deodorant. I’d used Salt of the Earth’s classic crystal deodorant – essentially an unscented rock of salt that you wet before applying to your underarms – during my seven month backpacking trip around south east Asia. I would definitely recommend this deodorant for backpackers (it lasts forever, I used less than half a stick over seven months) or people who aren’t bothered about scented products. It wasn’t something I wanted to use back at home as I worked in customer facing jobs and wanted something with a natural but pleasant smell.

I’m 25, fit and healthy and wouldn’t say I sweat an unusual amount so when I read on Wild’s FAQs page that their formula would keep me smelling fresh even on ‘really busy days’ I was filled with confidence and ordered away. It was May and the UK was at the height of its national lockdown. With nothing much to do and no plans for social gatherings in the upcoming months, what better time to switch to a natural deodorant I thought.

I eagerly ordered my aluminium case in the colour aqua (they’ve since brought out a purple case which I would have chosen now) and first cartridge of deodorant in the scent ‘coconut dreams’. The order arrived promptly in a slim cardboard box, the packaging felt minimal which I liked and had their visually appealing branding throughout.

Despite clear instructions on how to slot your refill into the case, it was initially a bit confusing and fiddly trying to get the cartridge in the right place. After a few uses I also noticed that the refill would sometimes fall out of the case when you opened it, I was willing to overlook this as a minor flaw. The coconut dreams scent was very subtle, I almost couldn’t smell it unless I held the deodorant up close to my face.

Wild deodorant has a natural formula

As with most other natural deodorants, Wild says there may be a two week transition period, where you may notice that you sweat more as you adapt from using an antiperspirant. If anything I found this to be the opposite, Wild worked for me best during the first month of using it. Perhaps it was because it was lockdown and I wasn’t doing anything much other than working from home and going for a short walk in the evenings.

During that first month I put Wild to the test and went out for a run, to my amazement my armpits still smelt vaguely like coconut afterwards and I couldn’t smell any unpleasant sweaty smells. But as the months went by, the honeymoon period I’d had with Wild started to wear off. The subtle coconut scent I’d enjoyed at the beginning started to become so subtle that I couldn’t really smell it at all and I could just smell body odour. I also noticed that the thick formula was leaving marks on my clothes which stank like a mix of sweat and tapioca.

Not willing to give up on Wild, I experimented: sometimes using more product, sometimes using less. Then in an act of sheer desperation I began spraying Soft and Gentle 0% Aluminium Deodorant on my armpits before applying Wild. No matter what I did by the end of the day my armpits were sticky, smelt bad and my clothes had horrible heavy patches of product clinging to them.

The real sign that Wild wasn’t the natural deodorant for me came when lockdown restrictions began to lift and we could meet up with people outside again. After months apart, my boyfriend and I could meet up for walks and picnics on sunny days. I’d been using Wild for about three months already knew it wasn’t working, but it really hit home when after 15 minutes into a walk with my boyfriend, he turned to me and said: “Are you wearing that natural deodorant today?”, “Yes, how do you know?” I replied. “I can tell because you stink.” Sometimes the truth hurts. But I knew he was right.

Wild deodorant

It didn’t seem to add up

After this less than pleasant experience, I went back to Trustpilot to see what other people thought of Wild. I was shocked. Almost universal five star reviews from a range of different people. Reading the very few one or two star reviews I began to see a pattern emerge of young, fit people who don’t usually sweat much saying that the deodorant hadn’t worked for them either. I almost couldn’t believe that I was in the small percentage of customers who didn’t get on with Wild.

I decided to read a selection of blogger reviews in the hopes I’d get a more honest review of Wild. I noticed many of the posts opened with *disclaimer: item was gifted* before leaving a glowing review of Wild. While I do believe the bloggers gave their honest opinions on Wild, research has shown that reviewers are more likely to leave a more positive review in exchange for a free product.

Wild deodorant case in aqua

The verdict

Sustainability: ★★★★★

Effectiveness: ★☆☆☆☆

Easy to use: ★★☆☆☆

Scent: ★★☆☆☆

Price: ★★★★☆

Overall: ★★☆☆☆

As my experience seems to be so at odds with almost everything I’ve read about Wild, I do think it’s strange that it has such glowing reviews. Maybe it’s the incentive of a free product that’s behind these good reviews or perhaps I’m in the small percentage of people for whom this product simply won’t work for.

On a positive note, I really enjoy how Wild is marketed, its slick graphics and easy to use website entice you in. The subscription service is straightforward, before I gave up on Wild I ordered a refill pack with another coconut dreams, plus orange zest and bergamot rituals which while still subtle, smelt much nicer than coconut dreams.

I also think the price point is good for a natural, sustainable product. Your first purchase of the aluminium case plus one refill is £12. Then going forward the refills cost £6 each or £5 on subscription, you buy three at a time on a flexible plan which you can easily change if you’re not ready for more refills yet. My original coconut dreams cartridge lasted three months, so if I was to use Wild for a year that would cost me £20 in refills. Let’s say over a year I use eight roll on deodorants bought from a shop at an average price of £2, that would cost me £16. The £4 difference isn’t much considering you’re paying for a sustainable, zero waste product made of mostly natural materials.

But no matter how environmentally friendly or cost effective Wild is, it doesn’t change the fact that their deodorant didn’t work for me. I’m not willing to persevere with a product if it means purposefully not lifting my arms during a work Zoom meeting because I know there will be noticeable sweat patches to everyone on the call to see. Or knowing full well that I’ll smell bad in front of friends and family I haven’t seen for months. Not to mention the sticky sweat patches that still haven’t come out of some of my clothes despite multiple washes.

There are so many positives to Wild which maybe the reason why I wanted to persevere with the product so badly even when I knew it wasn’t working. I have since given my aluminium case and unused refills to a friend to see if she gets on better with Wild, I really hope she does but if she doesn’t I’m sure there will be another friend she can pass it along to. Not one to give up on natural deodorant all together, I’ve recently started using the Kutis deodorant stick in lavender and geranium. A week in and I’m happy with the results so far, but let’s see if it stands the test of time.

Have you used Wild? Leave a comment below and let me know how you got on with it!

27 Replies to “Wild natural deodorant review: Not what I was expecting”

  1. Oh! I’m so disappointed to read this, I have my first order on the way to me. I will try it and see how I get on, I don’t usually sweat as such only ever become slightly sticky if I don’t use deodorant. Let’s see how I get on working 12.5 he shifts running around on a busy ward. I may keep a back up on my bag after reading this just in case! I was so hoping it was going to be perfect!

  2. Eve, I agree so much of what you have written. I too was so excited when I found this wonderful looking and as you say very slickly advertised natural deodorant and ordered my first case about a year ago. I noticed that the scent was so so subtle you can hardly smell it despite all the names suggesting it would smell glorious so that was a disappointment. I love the look of the case, what I didn’t like was the terrible difficulties I have had filling it or refilling it . I ended up getting one of the new deodorant I put in totally stuck couldn’t get it to go in or to come out or be used properly. On writing to customer service at Wild they were very very helpful and sent me a new case, But unfortunately I continue to have difficultiesI with loading the cartridge it’s not intuitive in any way. I find I have to keep watching the guide on how to do it. Also as soon as you get near the end of the product I found it starts to fall out of the case every time you go to use it. I think they have a great idea, wonderful marketing just they need to redesign the product a little.

    1. Absolutely! It’s such a great idea and I really wanted it to work so it’s such a shame it doesn’t. I also found when I spoke to Wild customer services that they were understanding and helpful so I believe they are a good company. Maybe one to watch in the future as I am sure they will bring out a better design for the case.

      I’ve found that Kutis deodorant has worked really well for me since I wrote this post so hopefully you’ve found something that works for you too!

      Thanks for stopping by on my blog 🙂

  3. it s happening the same to me and I stink at the end of the day ( after sitting all day) after a couple of months of use.. weird!!! bought lots of them and will be my house deodorant i guess but I will have to find an alternative

  4. Thank the lord I thought I was the only person that this deodorant wasn’t working for! No problems setting it up although as its coming to the end I notice that it falls out if you push it up too much but it just doesn’t help reduce odour. I do workout everyday but even after a shower I don’t believe it is particularly effective. Back to the drawing board for me I think.

  5. Thanks so much for writing this – it was exactly the review I was after!! I knew it was too good to be true… Can I ask if you found an alternative for that seems to work for you? Thanks!

    1. Hey, thank you for reading! Yes I’ve found a brand called Kutis that works for me, I’ve also heard good things about a company called Ben and Anna. Hope you find a deodorant that works for you! 🙂

  6. I’ve never sweated as much since wearing Wild. After a dog walk I’m soaked, right armpit more than left weirdly. I’m with you, loved the idea but I can’t stand the wetness and that’s in the winter. I can’t smell it either now and it does mark your clothes. I’ll be cancelling my subscription and trying something else I’m afraid.

    1. Hi, thanks for reading! It’s so strange that it hasn’t worked for a few people I know yet it’s hugely popular. Maybe we’re just unlucky…

  7. So glad I found this review! I’ve been using wild for 8 days and my armpits smell ungodly! I’m going to carry on until I’ve done the 12 days the website says is the transition period but WOOF! I have never ever EVER had this kind of body odor before. Even showering doesn’t seem to make me smell fresh again. I used to be able to shower and not wear deodorant and I wouldn’t smell at all until the next morning. I am struggling to keep going with it.

    1. Thanks for reading, I’m glad it’s not just me! I smelt bad for three months so I can’t recommend sticking it out. I’ve found Kutis natural deodorant works better for me so maybe give that a go!

      1. I also tried the natural deodorant company but the only one that seemed to work at all was thw active one and it’s not reccomend for every day use so…… I have a salt of the earth (plastic free) crystal but I’m really struggling to get rid of the smell Wild has left me with. Did you have to go back to non-natural deodorant to reset your armpits before using your new one or did you just have to wait it out? I’m not sure how long I can cope with smelly pits as I’m not used to it! I shower everyday but I can’t seem to get the balance back.
        Please can I ask what kutis scent you went for and if you went vegan or regular? I might order one but as I’m not vegan I would be inclined to get the regular one is I thought it might be a tad more effective!

        Really appreciate the help, would love to read another post about what zero waste toiletries you use generally…. I’m trying to do the same and toothpasteis next on my agenda 🙂

      2. Hi Cassandra, I know what you mean! Yes, I normally reset with a ‘normal’ deodorant for a few days after using a natural one for a while.

        I use the Kutis vegan deodorant in lavender and geranium, it smells amazing! Being vegan myself I hadn’t thought to try to the non-vegan one, so I’m not overly sure what the differences are. I would definitely recommend Kutis over other natural brands, I’ve tried Salt of the Earth and Ben & Anna, and didn’t get on with either.

        Thanks so much, I definitely want to work on a blog post about other zero waste toiletries! I’ve given natural toothpaste a go with no luck. I tried tabs, a charcoal one in a pot and an aloe vera based one but never really felt like my teeth were clean! So please let me know if you have any recommendations 🙂

      3. I ended up writing my own post about natural deodorants as I tried loads, but I think maybe the fact that my pits get no air (I’m plus size!) Any balm like deodorant just doesn’t work for me. I used to use Mitcham gel and have found that deo with potasium alum is the only thing that really works for me. The salt of the earth spray is great but annoyingly comes in a plastic bottle, but the cowshed spray was very effective. The only problem I had with it is that it smells very masculine, so my partner uses it now and I’m sticking with salt of the earth.

        Toothpaste-wise I got the new colgate one that claims to be more natural and has tube you can recycle. There’s no way I’m going to pursued my boyfriend to use tabs or powder, so I’m just moving slowly towards something paste like in a glass jar…. baby steps!

        I also just ordered hand soap from Milly and Sissy (wanted to try kankan but it’s just too expensive) Beautiful glass bottle with powder refills. Fingers crossed it’s a winner!

  8. Wild deodorant –
    I’ve used it for over 7 months and it’s just what I want. Only occasionally used michums roll on so the switch wasn’t a big deal. I probably use this more often because I like the sustainability aspect.
    I have the same falling out issue but it’s stopped happening as often probably because I subconsciously hold it differently.
    I do have difficulty every time I switch in a new one – I just can’t remember what to do. After thinking I’d broken the last one I managed to get it out and sorted ok.

    I managed to subscribe far too frequently so have a pile of mint to work my way through.

    I’ve not had many issues with patches on my clothes – something I did suffer with back when I used aerosols and fairly often with the roll on. Just occasionally when pulling them on right after applying.

    I don’t think the minty fragrance hangs around strongly for long… But I don’t get much offensive stink – the body smell is less in between uses (often 3 days) even after a run than it was for roll on.
    It’s strong enough for me as I don’t like heavy fragrances and rarely use perfume.

    I’m 40, have 1 and 11 year old kids. I don’t feel self conscious about my armpits on zoom when I remember I did pre-Wild in the office. Relatively fit although gym has not been visited for a while!
    I don’t shave… and haven’t been waxed since Sept 2019 which may make a difference.

    In summary – it works for me. It wasn’t a free gift but I vaguely remember watching for a while when if first appeared on my Facebook feed then someone posted a referral discount code. I waited untill the purple was available so I’m extra happy as starter cost was £9.60 in August 2020.

    1. Hi, thank you for sharing – I’m so glad to hear that it’s worked for you! Wild seems to be such a good company in terms of sustainability so I would definitely support them again in the future. I’ve seen they’ve launched a collection of soaps which may be more suited to me!

      Thanks again for sharing 🙂

  9. Thank you SO much for an honest review, they are so hard to come by these days (due to ad/gifted/pr product). I had a feeling that Wild wouldn’t work for me so landed here in search of reviews. Appreciate reading this, everyone is different, but I’ve had the same experience with every single natural deodorant I’ve tried, some quite expensive. I find now that Sure doesn’t work on me either, it used to after using natural. The search prevails!

    1. Thank you so much for reading! I could not find a bad review of Wild when writing this so I’m glad it was useful to you. I’ve found the same, that normal deodorants don’t work as well after trying natural! I hope you find the ideal product for you 😊

  10. I had a similar experience with Scrubber, its another natural ecofriendly deodorant in cardboard packaging. I put it on and it smelled lovely in the beggining but after a few hours i started to have terrible BO. It even irritated my armpits so i looked up on the internet and it turns out that bicarbonate and oils are not good for your armpits and thats why i was getting this result, same ingredients ive seen in wild thats why i was turned off from trying it

    1. That’s really interesting to know! And explains why it hasn’t worked for so many people. I was having a great experience with Kutis natural deodorant for about 6 months but then it started to irritate my underarms, perhaps it’s an issue with the ingredients in these natural deodorants. Thanks so much for reading 😊

  11. I haven’t used wild deodorant. I really dislike that they are not transparent about the fact that they use synthetic fragrances in their products. In fact, they try their best to hide this fact. They don’t list the ingredients under each product, you have to go to FAQ’s to find the statement “All our refills are packed with a careful blend of essential oils…….We’ve taken the upmost care to combine premium natural ingredients to create the perfect formula for your underarm!”. However, if you read down the list, you will find “parfum” ie synthetic fragrances, so that first statement is a bit misleading and builds mistrust with me but with scents such as “toffee apple” and “watermelon” the presence of synthetic fragrances isn’t really such a great surprise…. But it screams of greenwashing to me. How is it a natural deodorant if they include synthetic fragrances?
    I’m disappointed because I like the refill idea.

    1. Hi Sarah, that’s a really interesting point! Although I do believe that they are a sustainable company on the whole and I also think the refill idea is great, there are still some questionable aspects about them. Like you say, marketing it as a natural product when there’s synthetic fragrances in them really makes me question their authenticity. If their products came in a cardboard tube without all the fancy branding, they would be treated as any other natural deodorant… unpopular! Thank you so much for reading, please let me know if you find a better alternative natural deodorant 🙂

Leave a comment

Tall Blonde Tales

lifestyle blog

Theinspiredimperfectionist

Lets Talk About Life

Cutting back my trash, one piece at a time

Trying my best, but keeping my expectations low.

Earth Fixers 💚🌎

Going green made easy!

Lifesfinewhine

The Life & Ramblings Of A Zillennial

Zero-Waste Chef

Less waste, more creativity, tastier food

Running On Porridge

Running, Ramblings and Recipes from a Student Runner